Index live · v1.3.0 · SEP 4 2026

Reference · verified 2026-09-04

AI Agent Skill Directories

The Agent Skills format is open, so no single catalog owns it. Several directories index skills built on the standard — and they differ enormously.

By three orders of magnitude in size. And, more usefully, in what each one actually checks before listing something.

Every figure below was read from the named site on 2026-09-04. Where a site publishes no ranking or review method, this page says so rather than guessing — and two candidates were left out entirely because their claims could not be read from source.

First: why the standard is not a directory

agentskills.io is the Agent Skills standard itself — “A standardized way to give AI agents new capabilities and expertise. Originally developed by Anthropic, released as an open standard, and since adopted across a wide range of agent products. It publishes the specification and lists compatible agent clients. It does not catalog individual skills.

A skill under that standard is a folder containing a SKILL.md file — metadata plus instructions, loaded by the agent only when a task matches. Everything below indexes those folders. The standard defines the format; directories help you find what has been built with it.

The directories, compared

DirectoryOperatorIndexedReviewed before listing?
skills.shVercel1,367,794 skillsNo published review
SkillsMPNot stated2,000,000+ skillsNo published review
Skills DirectorySkills Directory194,149 indexed skillsAutomated security scan
Awesome SkillsNot statedNot publishedNo published review
AgenticSkillsthis siteAgenticSkills192 skills · 200 MCP serversCurated — selected, not crawled

Each directory in detail

1.skills.sh

skills.sh

The Agent Skills Directory

Scale
1,367,794 skills
Ranking
Leaderboard ordered by install count and 8-week activity, with All Time, Trending (24h) and Hot views. The top entry, find-skills, reports 3.3M installs.
Vetting
None published. Skills are indexed from public GitHub repositories; ranking is a popularity signal rather than a review.

2.SkillsMP

skillsmp.com

The largest community-driven marketplace for AI coding agent skills

Scale
2,000,000+ skills
Ranking
Search, category and occupation filters. No ranking method published.
Vetting
None published. Entries are aggregated from public GitHub repositories.

3.Skills Directory

www.skillsdirectory.com

Security-tested agent skills for Claude, coding agents, and AI workflows

Scale
194,149 indexed skills
Ranking
Not published.
Vetting
Automated security analysis on every listing — 120 detection patterns across 10 threat categories, covering prompt injection, credential theft and data exfiltration. The site states that 36% of skills in the wild carry security flaws.

4.Awesome Skills

awesomeskill.ai

An agent skills marketplace for Claude, Codex, ChatGPT, and other AI coding assistants

Scale
Not published
Ranking
Search, latest, and featured views. No ranking method published.
Vetting
None published.

The million-skill mirage: how they actually differ

The size gap is the obvious difference, and the least useful one.

SkillsMP reports over two million skills, skills.sh 1,367,794. Both aggregate public GitHub repositories — so those totals measure how much of GitHub has been crawled, not how much of it is worth installing.

The real split is what each one treats as evidence.

skills.sh ranks by install count and 8-week activity. That is a genuine signal of adoption — and a circular one, since the leaderboard drives the installs that determine the leaderboard.

Skills Directory runs an automated security scan instead, and reports that 36% of skills in the wild carry security flaws. The rest publish no method at all.

None of these is wrong. They answer different questions.

An aggregator is the right tool when you already know the skill's name and want it installed in one command. A selected catalog is the right tool when you don't know what exists, and can't evaluate two million candidates yourself.

Where AgenticSkills fits: selected, not crawled

This site is the small end of that trade deliberately: 192 skills across 16 categories and 200 MCP servers — roughly 0.01% of what the aggregators index.

The difference is not that every entry has been individually audited — it would be easy to claim that and impossible for you to check. It is that the catalog is selected rather than crawled: something has to be added for it to appear, so the set stays small enough to describe, categorise, and keep an eye on.

The signals shown next to each skill are then ones you can check yourself against the source repository, rather than install counters nobody outside the site can audit:

  • Commit recency on the skill's own path, not the whole repo
  • Contributor count
  • Whether the publishing org is who it claims to be

Quality ranks are labelled editorial in the interface because that is what they are: judgement, not measurement. Install counts were removed in May 2026 for the same reason — the first question anyone reasonable asks is “how do you know?”, and there was no credible answer. The rubric, and the signals deliberately left out, are written down.

Common questions

What is an AI agent skills directory?

A catalog of skills built on the Agent Skills standard — an open format where a skill is a folder containing a SKILL.md file with metadata and instructions an agent loads on demand. Directories differ in what they index and what they check: the largest aggregate every public SKILL.md they can find and rank by install count, while smaller ones list a selected set and publish what the selection is based on.

Is agentskills.io a directory?

No. agentskills.io is the Agent Skills standard itself — the specification, originally developed by Anthropic and released as an open standard. It documents the format and lists compatible agent clients; it does not catalog individual skills. Directories are the sites that index skills built on that standard.

How many agent skills directories are there?

This page lists 4 independently verifiable directories plus AgenticSkills, each read from source on 2026-09-04. Others exist and appear in search results, but any catalog whose figures could not be read directly from the site is deliberately excluded rather than listed on hearsay.

Which directory has the most skills?

By self-reported count, SkillsMP at over 2,000,000, followed by skills.sh at 1,367,794 and Skills Directory at 194,149. Those totals come from aggregating public GitHub repositories, so they measure reach rather than quality — a larger index is not a more selective one.

Are skills in these directories safe to install?

Not automatically. A skill is instructions an agent executes, so it carries the same risk as running someone else's code. Of the directories listed here, only Skills Directory publishes an automated security check, and it reports that 36% of skills in the wild carry security flaws. Install counts and star totals are popularity signals, not security review — read the SKILL.md before installing.

Get new skills in your inbox. What we added, what we rejected, and why. See a past issue.